Postcard from Zimbabwe

8 Feb

775163_484303644944140_1396735079_o

After one too many reminders from a few not so subtle friends I’ve finally dragged myself out of hibernation. A very belated Happy New Year to everyone!

The truth is I’ve been slacking off in Zimbabwe enjoying precious time with family. Remind me to only ever fly with Emirates because they sure know how to look after their young passengers.

As soon as I arrived in Zimbabwe I was reminded of what a beautiful country it is despite the media hype. I was reminded of a lifestyle that we can never have in the Diaspora and took full advantage of my 3 weeks there to soak it all in.

I was struck though by how acceptable it’s become for men to have small houses, a symptom of the economic collapse, I guess, where women are happy to trade their bodies for financial security within the now socially acceptable “small house”. For men a small house has become a must-have symbol of financial success.

It’s good to be back and I look forward to some interesting conversations in 2013!

One Response to “Postcard from Zimbabwe”

  1. MissLinC March 7, 2013 at 5:19 pm #

    I was also in Zimbabwe for 3 weeks, went on the 5th of Feb and had amaizng time. And you are right, the small house epidemic!!!

Leave a comment